A letter to GB on his first birthday

If you don’t like sappy sweet stuff you might just want to stop now and come back on another day 😁 because I plan to mushy all over this blog today.

Today my sweet little honey monkey turns one. He has lived out in this world for a year and he has become my whole world. He brings Tony and I a plethora of joy, laughter and bliss. He has turned me into someone who cries while looking down on him sleeping. He is the best parts of us and I can hardly wait to see the wonderful man he becomes.

I can’t take any credit for this idea of writing a letter on his birthday. I have seen many people do letters to their children. Both online and off. The one who inspired me was none other than my favorite blogger motherhoodwtf  the wonderful Allison. I remember reading her letters before I had GB and going someday I will do that too.

 

To my sweet GB,

Today you are one year old. Its hard to believe its been a year since I first held you. You have completed me in a way I didn’t think possible. I have a purpose now and while some might not consider it a worth while one or even a real job to me it is what I was born to do. You are the best thing I have ever done. My greatest accomplishment.

In the hospital

In the hospital

You are by no means a perfect child. Funny thing they don’t exist. But if they did you would be very close 😜 although those first three months were rough kiddo. You screamed and fought and refused to sleep and I felt like I was doing it all wrong and that I’d never get it right and you’d end up shoveling elephant poop at the circus. But we made it. Your dad, you and me we pulled thru and we fell into a happy routine.

sleep is for suckers ma

sleep is for suckers ma

You are so funny and so full of zest. Your a stinker who gets into everything and you are constantly getting hurt. You seem to have inherited my lack of grace.  You come stumbling towards me face red, tears streaming like I can fix it all. And for now I mostly can. I hope you’ll always come to me knowing my arms will always be there and I’ll always try and help.

swim time

swim time

I dont exactly know what to write in this letter. I don’t know how to convey what a special, silly nutty little boy you are. How much laughter and love you have brought us. I wish I could describe the feelings I felt when I first held you, first heard your laugh, first held your hand. It was like I made sense. Suddenly my life was bigger than I ever knew it could be.

I can’t wait to see you grow and change. I dread it because I love these moments now. I love our days together and how much you need me. But I do look forward to the young man you will become.

I can already see the funny, bright, outgoing guy you are going to be. You’re such a flirt and you can charm even the crankiest of waitresses. You love you dog and playing with my phone. Your favorite foods are pear and pineapple sauce, waffle wheels and chocolate. Your favorite times of the day are waking up and when “da da da” comes home from work. You love to help me clean and have an odd fixation with the dishwasher. Your laugh makes me laugh till I cry and your cry can break my heart. You are a million little things that make up the most wonderful little boy ever.

playing with "da da da"

playing with “da da da”

And today you are one year old, you are a toddler now. You will keep learning new and funny things and you will run towards the future at speeds I can’t slow down. You will always be my precious sweet baby and I will cherish this first year always. Thank you for choosing me to be your mummy. Thank you for loving as hard as you do.

GB and FJ

GB and FJ

Looking forward to many more years with you my sweet boy.

Love Always

Your Mum

 

About FranklyTannith

Wife, mother, snarky food lover! I'm Tannith and welcome to my blog. I'm a happily married lady with one lovely son and two awesome step kids. I enjoy Harry Potter (that's putting it lightly) reading, writing, cooking, laughing and my friends and family. I live in Texas but grew up in Colorado.
This entry was posted in Family, funny, sappy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A letter to GB on his first birthday

  1. Pingback: A letter to GB on his second birthday  | forevertart

  2. Pingback: A letter to my son on this third birthday  | FranklyTannith

Leave a Reply

