Saying goodbye to our home

Most of you know we’ve moved to Las Vegas. Which has meant trying to sell our house. The first home we owned together. And the only house GB really seems to remember. He has cried about wanting to go back to “texxhaaas” quite a bit and it breaks our hearts a bit to explain this is home now.


While selling the house has been exceptionally stressful and full of hurdles, today is the day of closing. Today is the day our home is officially someone else’s. It’s bittersweet. I am happy with our new home and I am excited to find our own place here. But I am sad to let go of something we worked so hard to get. That we worked so hard to make ours. A place we loved and laughed in. A place our son had so many firsts. I know it will all stay with me in my mind and memories. But it’s weird to say goodbye to a house. The physical representation of your family. The cozy little shell that contains and keeps all you love safe and warm. 


I hope the new family finds just as much joy there as we did. I hope our friends and neighbors welcome them the way they welcomed us. I hope the house becomes their home. 

We have been so blessed by our friendships I’m Texas. Thank you to all our friends who made our lives so much richer with your presence. I hope we get to see you soon. 


It rained the day we moved into our house on that April day. And it’s pouring today in Las Vegas the day we say goodbye. Seems absolutely fitting. 


Tannith 

About FranklyTannith

Wife, mother, snarky food lover! I'm Tannith and welcome to my blog. I'm a happily married lady with one lovely son and two awesome step kids. I enjoy Harry Potter (that's putting it lightly) reading, writing, cooking, laughing and my friends and family. I live in Texas but grew up in Colorado.
This entry was posted in Around the house, Family, Friends, friendship and such, General, House, Love, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Saying goodbye to our home

  1. Jerome Shaw says:

    Well done – in this post you captured so much of how a house turns into a home. I have no doubt you will be able imbue the next house with the all warmth of a home. So sorry and congratulations.

Leave a Reply

